6 June, 2024

Football in fine form despite weather

Stanthorpe Festival of football

By Selina Venier

Members of the Ladies' teams on June 1.
Members of the Ladies' teams on June 1.

Overhead grey wasn't a deterrent to an enjoyable Multicultural Festival of Football in Stanthorpe on June 1.

Kicking off with the Fillies game at 9am and the Over 35s at 10.15am, both Italian teams were victorious. Sienna Bell scored the only goal in the Fillies match. Sophia Calvisi and Lucy Camp were the Players of the Match for Italy and Australia, respectively.

The scoreboard toasted Italy's 5-0 victory in the Over 35's game. Milko Volpato was named Player of the Match for a hat trick, with Stephen Favero and Romeo Salazar also scoring. Michael Paech was the Player of the Match for the Australian side.

The Ladies' game was at 11.45am, Italy scoring goals by Melanie Reedy and Georgia Favero. Australia was seen clawing back with Marley Skinner scoring in the last 10 minutes. Anika Spiller was the Player of the Match for Italy, and Shania Politch was highlighted for Australia.

The Australian side came up trumps in the Men’s at 1.30pm, winning 4-0. Harry Coleman scored twice, Jacob Steele and Alasdair Stewart also adding to the tally. Nathan Webb was named Player of the Match for Italy and Harry Coleman for Australia.

Afternoon play was hampered due to the weather for the Men's game and resulted in the cancellation of the iComply game at 3.30pm.

The family of the late Scott Goodwin presented the inaugural Scott Goodwin Memorial Trophy to the victorious Italian team.

Organisers described what was witnessed as a "tremendous success". They included Franco Arcidiacono, Chris and Tamara Reedy, Mark and Julie-ann Spiller, Raymond Mattiazzi and Parry Clark.

Also assisting with promotion and support were the Stanthorpe United Redbacks Football Club, Football Stanthorpe, Ballandean Football Club, Inter Football Club Stanthorpe, Stanthorpe Carlton United Football Club, Tenterfield Soccer Club and Stanthorpe City Football Club.

To be congratulated too are all coaches, managers, referees and of course, the players.


Most Popular